The Fiëstas panel attended 112 productions at festivals across the country in order to select the various nominees. The panel included Herman van der Westhuizen, Barnie Mans, Wayne Muller and Laetitia Pople, among others.
The audience were also treated to live excerpts from some of the nominated productions, including Askoop, Die Dag is Bros, Amper, Vrystaat and comedy by Schalk Bezuidenhout. Further entertainment was provided by pop group Adam, Bittereinder’s Jaco van der Merwe, vocal diva Vicky Sampson, the Esther Nasser company of dancers, SircuSynergy, Lizelle le Roux on violin, Khanyisile Mthethwa on flute, Sydney Mavundla on trumpet and select members from the Tuks Camerata choir.
“The Fiëstas are an important event for KykNet, [as well as an opportunity] to acknowledge talent…[and we honour] the best interpretations and creative work that have taken place on our festival stages over the past year,” says Karen Meiring, head of KykNet.
The ceremony was broadcasted live on KykNet, and was a celebration of not only the beauty of art, but also its diversity and ability to engage viewers and listeners emotionally.

Image provided


Website | view posts