The building is composed of an adminis­tration building that includes the anatomy, physiology and pharmacology departments and a lecture hall. Prof Tiaan de Jager, current Dean of Health Sciences said that he prides himself in the “world class” facilities that the building boasts. “As reflected by the name – Tswelopele, which means progress – focuses on the devel­opment of the institution, the Faculty of Health Sciences, and its students.”

The building cost R173 m and funding to upgrade to the medical school was granted by the National Skills Development Fund and the National Department for Higher Education and Training.

Website | view posts