Luvuyo Menziwa, chairperson of EFF Tuks, was elected deputy president of the SRC. He was the only candidate backed by the Radical Youth coalition to be elected to the SRC.

A total of 6 140 students voted in this year’s elections. Daso’s Adrian Eckard was elected SRC secretary. Eckard told Perdeby that he is unhappy with representation within the new SRC. “We have a big AfriForum Youth base, which I don’t necessarily agree with. We need to show more transformation at this university and I will try to fight for that.”

AfriForum Youth won six of the 12 SRC seats, with Daso, EFF Tuks and Sasco winning one seat each. Three independent candidates also made it into the SRC. The remaining three seats were won by independent candidates.

Rochelle Oosthuyse from AfriForum said, “We are very happy about the results and that the campaigning went well. We’d like to congratulate the other candidates, especially Rassie and we think he’ll make a great president.”

Deputy director of Student Affairs Dr Willem Jorissen served as CEO of the IEC and said that he is satisfied with the elections. “From the nomination period to campaigning and to the election, the support was so overwhelming, and how it panned out within this new model, we are very happy,” Dr Jorissen said.


Photo: Anele Mkungela
Infographic: Rebecca Paulsen and Maxine Twaddle

Website | view posts