1958 (Sweden)
Brazil beat the hosts 5-2 in the final to lift the trophy. This is also the only occasion that a World Cup staged in Europe has not been won by a European team.


1962 (Chile)
Brazil successfully defended the trophy by beating out Czechoslovakia 3-1 in the final. In doing so, they became the second team, after Italy in 1938, to win consecutive World Cups.


1970 (Mexico)
The 1970 Brazilian team is still often cited as the greatest World Cup team ever, including players such as Pelé, Gerson, Jairzinho and Rivelino. They beat Italy 4-1 in the final and won the right to permanently keep the Jules Rimet Trophy.


1994 (USA)
In the USA, Brazil won their fourth tournament, becoming the first team to win the trophy four times. They beat Italy 3-2 on penalties after the game ended 0-0 after extra time. It was also the first World Cup final to be decided on penalties. Italian legend and Ballon d’Or winner Roberto Baggio missed the decisive penalty and gave Brazil the upper-hand.


2002 (South Korea and Japan)
Brazil won the tournament for a record fifth time as they beat Germany 2-0 in the final, with legend Ronaldo scoring both.

Brazil will be looking to add 2014 to their triumphant dates, and with the World Cup being hosted on their home soil, with their talented squad and their already World Cup winning coach, it seems like they just might.  


Image: Telegraph.co.uk

Website | view posts